Designing a Logo

What is a logo? A logo is, “a simple design that symbolizes the values, quality and promise offered by the manufacturers of a product or service” Slade-Brooking (2016, p24).

Although a logo in its simplest form is an identifier; Slade-Brooking believes that it should be reflective of a brands identity. By integrating the identity I intend to create within the logo design; the logo becomes a visual message telling the consumer what they can expect from the business.

Before I embarked on the creative process, I began researching logos of businesses that have a similar concept to the store that I intended to create, as well as brands that I intended to stock.

multiple-logos-2

Logo Examples

example-websites

Website Examples

After researching the images shown in Logo Examples, it was clear that there were two different styles of designs collated. Slade-Brooking defines the two logo types shown.

The first design is referred to as a Word Mark; this is a type of design where, “…the name of the company becomes the logo through the use of a unique typeface”. The second type of design is referred to as a Badge Mark;  This is a design where “…the company’s name is connected to a pictorial element” such as the Pandora and Scosha logo.

As these two types of logo design were highly prevalent within the sector researched, I decided that I would prototype both a Word Mark and a Badge Mark.  It seemed logical to design a logo in a similar style to others within my chosen retail sector as this would mean my logo would be identifiable as belonging to a particular sector. The positive connotations of modernity, luxury and quality would assimilate to my business.

 

When considering what makes a good logo, Cass (2009) considers there to be 5 principles of effective design:

5 Principles of Effective Logo Design

Jacob Cass (2009)

The logos I had researched certainly bore some if not all elements of Cass’ principles. I therefore wished to ensure that I used these principles when creating my logo.

The Design Process

Having limited design skills, I chose to use PowerPoint to create my logo. My logo design progression can be seen in the image below. This process culminated in images 3 and 6 as my final designs for both logo types.

Although the logos would be different types, I wanted each logo to evoke the feelings of modernity, luxury and quality.

When creating my Badge Mark, I used PowerPoint to design a diamond ring by using the freeform shape tool. I used this design as an image alongside the brand name text. This was to create the visual link between the company name and the product I would be selling. My initial font choice for this design was Courier 10 BT as I was limited to the font choices offered by PowerPoint. To combat this, I installed additional fonts into my office programs. This gave me far greater control as to the overall look and feel of my design.

As I felt the font used looked dated, I changed the font in image 3 to Bebas Neue. I also changed to uppercase lettering to increase the logo’s visibility when placed onto my site.   This font has a heavy typeface and therefore felt quite harsh and shouty in black. By altering the font colour to a dark blue this softened the logo.

The creation of my word mark also began with the font Courier 10 BT. My colour choice initially was light grey. I felt that this colour choice lacked impact and therefore changed the colour to black, as shown in image 6. For the same reasons detailed above, I also changed my font to De Valencia. The final design shown in image 6, is far more in keeping with the researched Logo’s and I decided to use this as my final design.

 

logo-progression

References

Cass, J. (2009) “What makes a good logo?”, Just Creative, 27 July. Available at: http://justcreative.com/2009/07/27/what-makes-a-good-logo/ (Accessed:6 November 2016)

Slade-Brooking, C. (2016) Creating a brand identity: a guide for designers. London: Laurence King Publishing Ltd.

 

